Although iTunes backs up most of your iPhone, downloaded applications, your audio, video, and photo content are not included in the backup.

Sync with iTunes:

 sCredit: brothersoft

If restoring from an iTunes backup, your iPhone, downloaded applications, audio, video, and photo contents will re-sync to the device because the “Sync” option under the respective tabs will be checked in iTunes when restoring from a backup. If you choose to restore your device as a new user, downloaded applications, audio, video, and photo content will not be sync until you select the “Sync” option in iTunes under each tab.

Updates in itunes:

iTunes also has the ability to update your iPhone. When you begin the process of updating your iPhone , iTunes performs a standard backup* (as mentioned above). To do so you would need to:

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes installed and running before attempting to update.
  2. Connect your iPhone to your computer.
  3. Select your iPhone or iPod touch when it appears in iTunes under Devices.
  4. Select the Summary tab.
  5. Click Check for Update

Restore in iTunes:

Using the Restore function for your iPhone is part of standard troubleshooting procedure. Restoring your device will erase all data from your iPhone, including songs, videos, contacts, photos, calendar information, and any other data. All iPhone settings are restored to their factory condition.

Whenever you restore your iPhone, Apple highly recommends that you perform a sync prior to restoring in order to back up any changes since your last sync. Use the following steps to restore your iPhone or iPod touch:

  1. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes installed and running before attempting to update.
  2. Connect your iPhone to your computer.
  3. Select your iPhone when it appears in iTunes under Devices.
  4. Select the Summary tab.
  5. Select the Restore option.
  6. When prompted to back up your iPhone settings before restoring, select the Back Up option.
  7. Software updates prior to iPhone software 2.0 updated the device without affecting your settings or media content. Updating your iPhone from iPhone software 1.x to 2.0 or later includes a back up, erase, and then restore of your device prior to installing the new update.
    iTunes will offer to create a one-time media backup of your device depending on what content is on your device and what content is stored in the iTunes Library you are connected to. You should ensure that you have enough free space on your Mac or PC to accommodate a backup that matches the capacity of your iPhone(4 GB, 8 GB, 16 GB, or 32 GB) if you proceed with the this backup.
  8. As a result of this comprehensive one-time media backup, this process can take some time. The amount of time is determined by the amount of data on the iPhone.
  9. Restoring your new iPhone from a previous iPhone backup.
  10. If you upgrade or otherwise replace your iPhone with a newer device, you may be able to restore the previous backup to the new device.

During the process of restoring your old backup to a new iPhone, you may see the iTunes progress bar pause. If this occurs, please allow for additional time for the upgrade to complete.

About Anees:

I love to share business and lifestyle content with all related communities. With a focus on content marketing and branding, I hope to inspire you to improve the performance of your online business. Follow me at Twitter @built4kill2004

Comment (1)

  1. Very useful information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.